Who won Player of the Year in 2009?


Year Player Also won
2006–07 Cristiano Ronaldo FWA, FPY, YPY, PPS
2007–08 Cristiano Ronaldo (2) FWA, FPY, PPS
2008–09 Ryan Giggs
2009–10 Wayne Rooney FWA, FPY, PPS

Who won most FIFA player of the year?

The Best FIFA Men’s Player
Formerly called FIFA World Player of the Year (1991–2009) FIFA Ballon d’Or (2010–2015)
First awarded 2016
Most awards Lionel Messi (6 awards)
Website fifa.com

Who is the best player in the world 2008?

Cristiano Ronaldo

Rank Player Points
1 Cristiano Ronaldo 935
2 Lionel Messi 678
3 Fernando Torres 203
4 Kaká 183

Who is the best player 2020 2021?

Best football players in the world ranked 2021

  • Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)
  • Erling Haaland (Dortmund)
  • Neymar (PSG)
  • Kylian Mbappe (PSG)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Man Utd)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Man City)

Who is best player of the year 2021?

Since its inception, the award has been won by Lionel Messi (2011, 2015), Andrés Iniesta (2012), Franck Ribéry (2013), Cristiano Ronaldo (2014, 2016, 2017), Luka Modrić (2018), Virgil van Dijk (2019), Robert Lewandowski (2020) and Jorginho (2021). Female players are awarded the UEFA Women’s Player of the Year Award.

Who is the best player in 2009?


Rank Player Points
1 Lionel Messi 1073
2 Cristiano Ronaldo 352
3 Xavi 196
4 Kaká 190

Who is the best football player in 2010?

Lionel Messi
FIFA Ballon d’Or

Rank Player Percent
1st Lionel Messi 22.65%
2nd Andrés Iniesta 17.36%
3rd Xavi 16.48%

Who was the FIFA Player of the Year in 2001?

The list is for the FIFA World Player of the Year, which was won by Luís Figo in 2001. Michael Owen won the Bllon d’Or in 2001. The two awards were merged in 2010.

When did the FIFA Player of the Year award start?

Originally a single award for the world’s best men’s player, parallels awards for men and women were awarded from 2001–2009. The men’s award was subsumed into the FIFA Ballon d’Or in 2010 while the women’s award remained until 2015. After 2015 both men’s and women’s awards became part of The Best FIFA Football Awards .

Who was the FIFA Player of the Year in 2016?

The 2016 and 2017 winner of the FIFA World Player of the Year winner was Cristiano Ronaldo, who also won the Ballon d’Or for the same periods.

Who is the oldest FIFA World Player of the Year?

Birgit Prinz won three times in a row and Mia Hamm won twice in a row. The oldest winner is Nadine Angerer, who was 35 when she won in 2013; she is also the only goalkeeper of either sex to win. The winners are chosen by the coaches and captains of national teams as well as by international media representatives invited by FIFA.