Who received Padma Vibhushan in 2008?

Cricketer Sachin Tendulkar, industrialist Ratan Tata and late mountaineer Edmund Hillary are among the thirteen to receive the Padma Vibhushan. Awarded by the President of India on Republice Day the award is given in recognition of exceptional and distinguished service to the nation.

Who was Padma Vibhushan on 50th Republic Day in 2000?

On 15 January 1955, the Padma Vibhushan was reclassified into three different awards as the Padma Vibhushan, the Padma Bhushan and the Padma Shri….Recipients.

Year 2000
Recipient Ram Narain Agarwal
Field Science & Engineering
State Andhra Pradesh

Who got first Padma Vibhushan award?

Recipients. The first recipients of the Padma Vibhushan were Satyendra Nath Bose, Nandalal Bose, Zakir Husain, Balasaheb Gangadhar Kher, V. K. Krishna Menon, and Jigme Dorji Wangchuck, who were honoured in 1954.

Who got the Padma Vibhushan on January 26 2009?

Well-known French Bharatnatyam dancer DEVAYANI was awarded the Padma Shri, one of the highest civilian awards in India, on 26th January 2009, the 60th Republic Day of India.

Which is highest civilian award in India?

Bharat Ratna
‘Bharat Ratna’, the highest civilian Award of the country, was instituted in the year 1954.

Who selects Padma?

The winners are shortlisted by the Padma Awards Committee and the names are then submitted to the Prime Minister and the President for approval. This commitee is headed by the Union Cabinet Secretary and includes the Home Secretary, Secretary to the President and four to six eminent persons as members.

Who is eligible for Padma Shri award?

According to the Padma awards website, any citizen of India irrespective of race, occupation, position or sex is eligible for these awards. However, government servants, including those working with PSUs, are not eligible for these awards although an exception has been made for doctors and scientists.

Who refused Padma Shri award?

author Gita Mehta
Eminent author Gita Mehta, who was on Friday conferred Indian’s fourth-highest civilian honour – Padma Shri – in the field of literature and education, has on Saturday “politely declined” to accept the award.

Who is the youngest Bharat Ratna winner?

cricketer Sachin Tendulkar
In 2014, cricketer Sachin Tendulkar, then aged 40, became the youngest recipient; while social reformer Dhondo Keshav Karve was awarded on his 100th birthday. The first singer to be awarded Bharat Ratna was M. S. Subbulakshmi.

What is the benefit of Padma awards?

Padma Awards were instituted in 1954 to be awarded to citizens of India in recognition of their distinguished contribution in various spheres of activity including the arts, education, industry, literature, science, sports, medicine, social service and public affairs.

Which is the first award of Padma Bhushan?

When instituted in 1954, the Padma Bhushan was classified as “Dusra Varg” (Class II) under the three-tier Padma Vibhushan awards, which were preceded by the Bharat Ratna in hierarchy. On 15 January 1955, the Padma Vibhushan was reclassified into three different awards as the Padma Vibhushan, the Padma Bhushan and the Padma Shri.

Can a Padma Vibhushan award be revoked or restored?

Recipients whose awards have been revoked or restored, both of which require the authority of the President, are also registered in the Gazette and are required to surrender their medals when their names are struck from the register. As of 2020 , none of the conferments of Padma Vibhushan have been revoked or restored.

How big is the Medal of Padma Vibhushan?

The recipients receive a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a medal with no monetary grant associated with the award. The decoration is a circular-shaped toned bronze medallion 1 3⁄4 inches (44 mm) in diameter and 1⁄8 inch (3.2 mm) thick.

Who was the first person to get Padma Vibhushan?

The Marshal of the Indian Air Force Arjan Singh is the first and the only five-star rank officer with the Indian Air Force. Singh was conferred Padma Vibhushan in 1965.