What are the properties of special quadrilaterals?

A quadrilateral should be closed shape with 4 sides. All the internal angles of a quadrilateral sum up to 360°…Parallelogram

  • Opposite angles are equal.
  • Opposite sides are equal and parallel.
  • Diagonals bisect each other.
  • Sum of any two adjacent angles is 180°

What are special Quadrilaterals?

A trapezium is a quadrilateral with one pair of sides parallel. A kite is a quadrilateral with two pairs of adjacent sides equal. A parallelogram is a quadrilateral whose opposite sides are parallel. A square is a quadrilateral that is both a rectangle and a rhombus.

What are the 7 Quadrilaterals?

Quadrilaterals – Square, Rectangle, Rhombus, Trapezoid, Parallelogram.

How do you identify special quadrilaterals by their properties?


  1. Rectangle. Opposite sides are parallel and equal.
  2. Square. Opposite sides are parallel and all sides are equal.
  3. Parallelogram. Opposite sides are parallel and equal.
  4. Rhombus. All sides are equal and opposite sides are parallel.
  5. Trapezium. A trapezium has one pair of opposite sides parallel.
  6. Kite.

What are the six special quadrilaterals?

The special quadrilaterals are the parallelogram, rectangle, rhombus, square, trapezium and kite.

Why are special quadrilaterals special?

The special quadrilaterals are the parallelogram, rectangle, rhombus, square, trapezium and kite. It is important for students to have experiences with a variety of shapes in order to develop flexible mental images. Students need to be able to recognise shapes presented in different orientations.

What are the six major special quadrilaterals?

Write the names of each of the six special quadrilaterals on the board: rectangle, square, parallelogram, rhombus, trapezium and kite.

What quadrilateral has no parallel lines?

In India and Britain, they say trapezium ; in America, trapezium usually means a quadrilateral with no parallel sides.) An isosceles trapezoid is a trapezoid whose non-parallel sides are congruent.

What are the six types of quadrilaterals?

Different Types of Quadrilaterals

  • Trapezium.
  • Parallelogram.
  • Rectangle.
  • Rhombus.
  • Square.
  • Kite.

What are characteristics of a quadrilateral?

Quadrilaterals. Quadrilateral just means “four sides” ( quad means four, lateral means side). A Quadrilateral has four-sides, it is 2-dimensional (a flat shape), closed (the lines join up), and has straight sides.

What do all quadrilaterals have in common?

There are many different kinds of quadrilaterals, but all have several things in common: all of them have four sides, are coplanar, have two diagonals, and the sum of their four interior angles equals 360 degrees.

What quadrilateral has 4 sides?

Rhombus: A quadrilateral with four congruent sides; a rhombus is both a kite and a parallelogram Rectangle: A quadrilateral with four right angles; a rectangle is a type of parallelogram Square: A quadrilateral with four congruent sides and four right angles; a square is both a rhombus…

What are the different types of quadrilaterals?

They are classified according to measures of equal angles and equal sides. There are seven different types of quadrilaterals: parallelogram, rhombus, rectangle, square, kite, trapezoid, and isosceles trapezoid. Types of quadrilaterals often overlap, so that a figure that fits in one category may also fit in another.