What are the different regions of the Middle East?

These sub-regions and the countries and territories they include are:

  • Arabian Peninsula: Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Yemen.
  • Caucasus: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia.
  • Islamic Republic of Iran.
  • Near East: Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine, Syrian Arab Republic, Turkey.

What defines the Middle East as a region?

The Middle East is the common term for a region consisting of countries in southwest Asia and, usually, at least part of North Africa. It was originally used to distinguish the area east of the Near East – the Balkans and the Ottoman Empire – and west of India. It included Afghanistan and Persia.

What is the Middle East known for?

Economically, the Middle East is known for its vast oil reserves. It is also known as the home of three major world religions: Christianity, Islam, and Judaism. Because of its economic, religious, and geographical location, the Middle East has been at the center of many world issues and political affairs.

What are the three main regions of the Middle East?

We know that there are economic, cultural and historical factors that separate the Middle East into three distinct areas: the GCC, the Levant and North Africa. If you live in the Gulf, you know that what happens here is a world away from the Levant and North Africa.

What is another name for the Middle East region?

Also called Mideast. (loosely) the area from Libya east to Afghanistan, usually including Egypt, Sudan, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Syria, Turkey, Iraq, Iran, Saudi Arabia, and the other countries of Arabia.

Which three major religions were born in the Middle East?

Three of the world’s major religions — the monotheist traditions of Judaism, Christianity, and Islam — were all born in the Middle East and are all inextricably linked to one another. Christianity was born from within the Jewish tradition, and Islam developed from both Christianity and Judaism.

What is the wealthiest country in the Middle East?

Qatar, Middle East – Qatar is currently the wealthiest country in the Arab World (based on GDP per capita).

What are the most common climate zones in the Middle East?

If given a choice, most people in the Middle East would probably choose to live in a Mediterranean climate, areas known for relatively wet winters, but dry summers.

What mountain range is in the Middle East?

The mountains in the Middle East include the Atlas chain in Morocco, the Aurès in Algeria , the Lebanons, the Taurus and Pontic ranges in Turkey, and the Zagros and Elburz in Iran; the highest peak, Damāvand in the Elburz Mountains, has an elevation of 5,738 meters.

What is the landscape in the Middle East?

One of the Middle East’s most unique landscapes, Khor al-Udaid features an extraordinary juxtaposition of desert and sea on the Qatari coast of the Persian Gulf. By day the sea smoothly draws up amongst the soft white sand dunes, creating a beautifully clear and still inland sea, before retreating again at night.

How big is the Middle East?

Today, the “Middle East” is defined as an area, which extends from the Atlantic Ocean (west) to Afghanistan (east). More specifically, it covers an approximate distance of 5,600 kilometers.

What is the ancient Middle East?

Ancient Middle East, history of the region from prehistoric times to the rise of civilizations in Mesopotamia, Egypt, and other areas. The high antiquity of civilization in the Middle East is largely due to the existence of convenient land bridges and easy sea lanes passable in summer or winter, in dry or wet seasons.