How do you identify a nymphalidae?

Description: The brush footed butterflies are comprised of a large group of well known butterflies; these include the mourning cloak, crescent-spots, and angel wings. This family is easily recognized by reduced front legs that lack claws. The front legs, due to their length, are not used for walking.

How many species of Nymphalidae are there?

6,000 species
With around 6,000 species, this is the largest family of butterflies.

What is the meaning of Nymphalidae?

: a widely distributed family of butterflies mostly of medium or large size and distinguished by having the forelegs much reduced in size in both sexes so that they are useless in walking and are carried folded on the breast, usually absent tarsal claws, larvae that are usually spiny or provided with fleshy processes.

What is the habitat for butterfly?

Butterflies live worldwide except the arctic. Nearly anywhere with nectar-producing flowers will host butterflies. Some species live in the deserts and feed upon the succulent plants that grow in the harsh conditions.

What is a key characteristic of Nymphalidae?

Characteristics. All species of Nymphalidae are united by a single morphological character, the tricarinate ridges found on the adult butterfly’s antennae. Most also exhibit extreme reduction in the size of the forelegs, particularly in males (this feature is also exhibited by Riodinidae).

Which family of butterflies is the largest?

The Nymphalidae are the largest family of butterflies, with more than 6,000 species distributed throughout most of the world. Belonging to the superfamily Papilionoidea, they are usually medium-sized to large butterflies.

What do butterflies do for a living?

They help flowers pollinate, eat plenty of weedy plants and provide a food source for other animals. In addition, their presence or absence can tell us a lot about the local environment.

What is it called when a caterpillar turns into a butterfly?

Butterflies are perhaps most famous for the process by which a plump little caterpillar transforms into a winged work of art. But they’re not unique in going through this drastic life change, called complete metamorphosis, or holometabolism. (Watch a time-lapse video of a caterpillar becoming a butterfly.)

What is a butterfly pupa called?

The pupa of butterflies is also called a chrysalis. Depending on the species, the pupa may suspended under a branch, hidden in leaves or buried underground. The pupa of many moths is protected inside a coccoon of silk. They will become the legs, wings, eyes and other parts of the adult butterfly.

What kind of butterflies are in the Nymphalidae family?

The Nymphalidae family of butterflies are a family of medium to large sized, brightly coloured butterflies. There are about 5,000 different species, distributed all over the world. Although these butterflies are brightly coloured, their underwings are a dull colour and in some species look remarkably like dead leaves.

How many tribes are there in the Nymphalidae?

Currently these genera are placed into 12 subfamilies and 40 tribes. The relationships of major lineages in Nymphalidae have been unclear for a long period, but recent work by the NSG, Andrew Brower and André Freitas are resolving these issues based on both molecular and morphological data.

What kind of plants do Nymphalidae larvae feed on?

It has a wingspan of about 45 millimetres. The larvae are most commonly black and are covered with short, thick black spines. They feed on a wide range of native daisies and other herbaceous plants, both native and introduced.

Where can I find phylogenetic information on nymphalids?

The current state of knowledge of the phylogenetic relationships of nymphalid butterflies can be found on the Tree of Life web project , which the NSG has helped to build up. The Tree of Life web project pages will be linked to throughout the NSG pages for phylogenetic hypotheses of the various clades in Nymphalidae.