Who won the 2003 Winston Cup?

Jimmie Johnson
CONCORD, N.C. (May 18, 2003) – Jimmie Johnson and Team Lowe’s Racing made a statement on Saturday at Lowe’s Motor Speedway, winning The Winston and banking $1 million in the process.

Why did NASCAR change from Winston Cup?

Reynolds Tobacco’s sponsorship contract expired, and NASCAR negotiated a contract with Nextel, a telecommunications company. In 2004, the series became known as the Nextel Cup Series. The 2006 merger between Sprint and Nextel resulted in the Cup Series being renamed the Sprint Cup, beginning with the 2008 season.

What happened to Winston Cup?

The Era of Winston Cup Over the next 33 years, the Winston sponsorship ushered in what is considered to be the “modern era” of NASCAR. The R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company decided to end its sponsorship in 2003.

When did the Winston Cup end?

The final season of Winston Cup racing was bookended by stops in the state of Florida but the 2003 circuit will be forever memorialized right here in Winston-Salem. This month, we’re featuring the last Winston Cup season and the Winston Cup’s 2003 champion, Matt Kenseth.

How many wins did Matt Kenseth have in 2003?

Matt Kenseth in the 2003 NASCAR Winston Cup Series

Final Rank 1 5022
Races 36 0
Wins 1 10.25
Top 5 Finishes 11 21.3
Top 10 Finishes 25 2

Who drives #18 Nascar?

Kyle Busch

Kyle Busch
Awards 2004 NASCAR Busch Series Rookie of the Year 2005 NASCAR Nextel Cup Series Rookie of the Year 2016 ESPY Awards Best Driver 2019 ESPY Awards Best Driver
NASCAR Cup Series career
600 races run over 18 years
Car no., team No. 18 (Joe Gibbs Racing)

Did Matt Kenseth win a race in 2003?

Kenseth moved up in the NASCAR Winston Cup Series. He won the series’ Rookie of the Year title in 2000 and the championship in 2003. The International Race of Champions invited Kenseth to race in their 2004 season as the reigning champion and he won the season championship….Matt Kenseth.

Wins Top tens Poles
39 331 20

Who drove the 17 DeWalt car in Nascar?

Matt Kenseth
Matt Kenseth, NASCAR driver champion, drove #17 DeWalt Ford sprint car.

Who is older Kurt or Kyle Busch?

Kurt Thomas Busch (born August 4, 1978) is an American professional auto racing driver. He competes full-time in the NASCAR Cup Series, driving the No. He is the older brother of two-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Kyle Busch.

Where was the 2003 NASCAR Winston Cup race held?

Champions | Seasons. The 2003 NASCAR Winston Cup Series was the 55th season of professional stock car racing in the United States and the 32nd modern-era Cup Series season. The season began on February 8 at the Daytona International Speedway with the Budweiser Shootout and ended on November 16 at Homestead-Miami Speedway with the Ford 400.

When did the NASCAR Winston Cup Series start?

The 2003 NASCAR Winston Cup Series was the 55th season of professional stock car racing in the United States and the 32nd modern-era Cup Series season.

What was the format of the NASCAR race in 2003?

The race featured drivers who have won a pole in the previous season or have won the event before. 2003 marked changes to the race’s format, for the first time the race ran at night. The 70-lap event was now split into two segments.

Who was the first NASCAR driver to win the Winston?

Darrell Waltrip was the first to be awarded “The Winston” at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Waltrip won his first and only Daytona 500 in 1989 driving the #17 Tide Chevrolet Monte Carlo for Hendrick Motorsports. Chrysler and Dodge ceased participation after the 1985 season. Mercury ‘s final season was 1980.