Who are the 2 senators from NY?

Kirsten Gillibrand (Democratic Party)
Chuck Schumer (Democratic Party)
New York/Senators
New York’s current U.S. senators are Democrats Chuck Schumer (serving since 1999, also serving as Senate Democratic Leader since 2017) and Kirsten Gillibrand (serving since 2009).

How many senators were there in 2012?

The 2012 United States Senate elections were held on November 6, 2012, with 33 of the 100 seats in the Senate being contested in regular elections whose winners would serve six-year terms beginning January 3, 2013, with the 113th Congress.

Who controls NY State Senate?

In the 2018 elections, Democrats won control of the State Senate and increased their majority in the State Assembly. At the beginning of the 2019-2020 legislative session, the Senate Democratic Conference held 39 of the chamber’s 63 seats and the Assembly Democratic Conference held 106 of the 150 seats in that chamber.

Who is the senator of New York City?

Home | U.S. Senator Chuck Schumer of New York.

How many senators does NYS have?

New York/Senators

How many US senators are there?

The Constitution prescribes that the Senate be composed of two senators from each State (therefore, the Senate currently has 100 Members) and that a senator must be at least thirty years of age, have been a citizen of the United States for nine years, and, when elected, be a resident of the State from which he or she …

Who is the Senate majority leader in 2012?

Majority and Minority Leaders

Congress Majority Leader
111th Congress (2009–2011) Harry Reid (D-NV)
112th Congress (2011–2013) Harry Reid (D-NV)
113th Congress (2013–2015) Harry Reid (D-NV)
114th Congress (2015–2017) Mitch McConnell (R-KY)

How much does a NYS Senator make?

New York State Senate
Authority Article III, New York Constitution
Salary $110,000/year + per diem
Last election November 3, 2020

How many senators are in NY?

Are there any US senators from New York?

Below is a list of U.S. senators who have represented the State of New York in the United States Senate since 1789.

Who is the longest serving senator from New York?

Daniel Patrick Moynihan was New York’s longest-serving senator (1977–2001). Class 1 senators belong to the electoral cycle that has recently been contested in 2006, 2010 (special election), 2012, and 2018. The next election will be in 2024 .

How to contact your New York State Senator?

NYsenate.gov news & issues senators & committees bills & laws budget events about the senate Follow the New York Senate facebook twitter youtube Accessibility Statement Contact the Senate Creative Commons Developers Home Rule Form Policies & Waivers Privacy Policy Terms of Participation

Who is the current Majority Leader of the New York State Senate?

On June 8, 2009, then-Senators Hiram Monserrate and Pedro Espada, Jr.–both Democrats—voted with the 30 Republican members to install Senate Republican Leader Dean Skelos (R-Rockville Centre) as the new majority leader of the Senate, replacing Democratic Senate Majority Leader Malcolm Smith.