What senators are from Tennessee?

Marsha Blackburn (Republican Party)
Bill HagertySince 2021

Who were Tennessee’s first elected senators?

William Cocke and William Blount were seated as Tennessee’s first two senators and took their oaths of office.

Who was senator before Marsha Blackburn?

Marsha Blackburn
Preceded by Ed Bryant
Succeeded by Mark E. Green
Member of the Tennessee Senate from the 23rd district
In office January 12, 1999 – January 3, 2003

Who was a former senator from Tennessee?

Robert Phillips Corker Jr. Orangeburg, South Carolina, U.S. Robert Phillips Corker Jr. (born August 24, 1952) is an American businessman and politician who served as a United States Senator from Tennessee from 2007 to 2019.

How many senators are in TN?

How many Senators are in TN?

Who was the longest serving senator from Tennessee?

They were again filled from July 1866. Tennessee’s current Senators are Republicans Marsha Blackburn and Bill Hagerty. Kenneth McKellar was Tennessee’s longest-serving senator (1917–1953).

Who is your US House of Representative Congressman for the 4th TN district?

U.S. Congressman Scott DesJarlais | Representing the 4th District of Tennessee.

What is the salary of a Tennessee state senator?


Tennessee State Senate
Salary: $24,316/year + per diem
Total: 33
Democrats: 6

How many Senators are elected to each district in Tennessee?

The Senate The state is divided into 33 senatorial districts, from each of which one senator is elected. Senators are elected to four-year terms with those from even-numbered districts being elected in the same general election, and those representing odd-numbered districts being elected two years later.

What are 3 powers only the Senate can do?

The Senate takes action on bills, resolutions, amendments, motions, nominations, and treaties by voting. Senators vote in a variety of ways, including roll call votes, voice votes, and unanimous consent.

Who was elected senator for Tennessee in 1985?

Howard Baker. James W. McCord Jr. Hugh W. Sloan Jr. Howard Henry Baker Jr. (November 15, 1925 – June 26, 2014) was an American politician and diplomat who served as a United States Senator from Tennessee from 1967 to 1985.

How many US Representatives does Tennessee have?

Tennessee. The state of Tennessee has two senators in the United States Senate and nine representatives in the United States House of Representatives.

How many congressional districts does Tennessee have?

There are currently nine United States congressional districts in Tennessee based on results from the United States 2010 Census . There have been as few as eight and as many as thirteen congressional districts in Tennessee.