What are the Phase 6 sounds?

Phase 6 Letters and Sounds activities are broken into broad groups:

  • Read with increasing fluency.
  • Introducing and teaching the past tense.
  • Investigating and learning how to add suffixes.
  • Spelling long words.
  • Finding and learning the difficult bits in words.
  • Developing memory strategies for spelling.

What is covered in Phase 6 phonics?

Phase 6 focuses on turning pupils into fluent readers and accurate spellers by teaching them fundamental grammatical skills, such as verb tenses, suffixes, additional spelling rules and helpful spelling techniques. There are no new tricky words to teach children as they study phase 6 phonics.

What are the phase 5 sounds?

Example Of Letters and Sounds Phase 5 Phonics Sounds

a-e Came i-e Like ea Sea
ey Money ou Out ir Girl
oe Toe oy Boy o-e Bone
au Paul ew Chew ue Due

Is there a phase 6 in phonics?

Phase 6 phonics takes place throughout Year 2, with the aim of children becoming fluent readers and accurate spellers. By Phase 6, children should be able to read hundreds of words using one of three strategies: Reading them automatically. Decoding them quickly and silently.

What is Phase 4 Letters and sounds?

When children start Phase 4 of the Letters and Sounds phonics programme, they will know a grapheme for each of the 42 phonemes. They will be able to blend phonemes to read CVC (consonant-vowel-consonant) words, and segment in order to spell them. In Phase 4, no new graphemes are introduced.

What is Phase 4 letters and sounds?

What is the main focus of Phase 5 in letters and sounds?

Children entering Phase Five are able to read and spell words containing adjacent consonants and some polysyllabic words. (See Appendix 3: Assessment.) The purpose of this phase is for children to broaden their knowledge of graphemes and phonemes for use in reading and spelling.

What phase is phonics in Year 1?

Phase 5
Year 1 Phonics Phase 5. The school uses Letters and Sounds as its phonic programme. Children entering Phase 1 will already be able to read and spell words with adjacent consonants, such as trap, string and flask.

What is a 3 letter sound called?

A trigraph is a single sound that is represented by three letters, for example: In the word ‘match’, the three letters ‘tch’ at the end make only one sound. All the trigraphs above trigraphs will be taught to children in Year 1.

What phase phonics should YEAR 1 be on?

split into 6 phases: • Phase 1 is introduced in the Nursery • Phases 2 and 3 are introduced in Reception • Phases 4 and 5 are introduced in Year 1 • Phase 6 is introduced in Year 2. In EYFS and KS1 your child will be taught phonics every day.