What are the 4 Christian virtues?

The natural virtues are sometimes known as the four cardinal virtues (from Latin cardo, “hinge”) because on them all lesser attitudes hinge. They are prudence, temperance, fortitude, and justice.

What are living virtues?

Virtues are the essence of our character and when we keep the practice of virtues at the heart of everyday life, we live with purpose. Virtue, by definition, is the moral excellence of a person. Morally excellent people have a character made-up of virtues valued as good.

What are the 7 virtues and vices?

Virtues and vices—prudence and pride, fortitude and anger, faith and lust, hope and envy, charity and sloth, temperance and gluttony, justice and avarice—become entangled, superimposed, intertwined, illegible, canceling each other out while at the same time appearing to create new words.

What are the 4 human virtues?

They make possible ease, self-mastery, and joy in leading a morally good life.” The four cardinal virtues are prudence, justice, courage and temperance.

What are the qualities of a virtuous person?

Herein, what are the qualities of a virtuous person? They are honest, respectful, courageous, forgiving, and kind, for example. They do the right thing, and don’t bend to impulses, urges or desires, but act according to values and principles.

What is the importance of living with your virtues?

Virtues are important because they are the basic qualities necessary for our well being and happiness. By recognizing the importance of virtues, in our lives, it will lead to better communication, understanding and acceptance between us and our fellow man.

Which is the highest virtue?

Truth is the highest virtue, but higher still is truthful living.

What are the virtues of the Christian faith?

The Christian virtues of faith, hope, love, wisdom, temperance, joy, courage, faithfulness, peace, and whatever other virtue there is, are learned in relationships with God (and the circumstances he brings into our lives) and others.

What are the seven virtues of the church?

Traditionally, the seven Christian virtues or heavenly virtues combine the four classical cardinal virtues of prudence, justice, temperance, and courage (or fortitude) with the three theological virtues of faith, hope, and charity. These were adopted by the Church Fathers as the seven virtues.

What does it mean to live a life of virtue?

Virtues are the cornerstone of ethics and morality, impacting how we navigate our relationships with others and ourselves. Living in alignment with these virtues affords us a more fulfilling life, one in which we intrinsically value the worth of humanity. A life of virtue means making the conscious choice to love and respect the world around you.

How are the virtues related to our character?

Virtues, then, relate to who we are as people; our character. 2B. Virtue in Greek Thought Plato’s concept of moral virtue or excellence ( ἀρετή) centered on four inherent virtues: wisdom, courage, temperance, and justice.