Is eco sensitive zone of Maharashtra?

The ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change has on April 30 notified 48.32 sq km around the Thane Creek Flamingo Sanctuary (TCFS) as an eco sensitive zone (ESZ). The draft proposal, which was sent to the ministry by the Maharashtra government in March, was published in an official gazette on April 30.

What activities are allowed in eco sensitive zone?

Activities permitted in the areas include ongoing agriculture and horticulture practices by local communities, rainwater harvesting, organic farming, adoption of green technology and use of renewable energy sources. The width of the ESZ and type of regulation may vary from protected area to area.

How is the eco sensitive zone declared?

Eco-Sensitive Zones (ESZs) or Ecologically Fragile Areas (EFAs) are areas in India notified by the Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change (MoEFCC), Government of India around Protected Areas , National Parks and Wildlife Sanctuaries.

What is the meaning of eco sensitive zone?

Eco-Sensitive Zone means the fragile area that exists within 10 kilometres of protected areas like National Parks and Wildlife Sanctuaries. The purpose of marking an Eco-Sensitive Zone is to create a kind of shock-absorber around the protected areas.

Which sanctuary declared eco sensitive zone?

National Chambal Sanctuary
Centre declares National Chambal Sanctuary in MP as eco-sensitive zone. The Centre on Monday declared the National Chambal Sanctuary in Madhya Pradesh, home to gangetic dolphins and 75 per cent population of critically endangered species gharial, as eco-sensitive zone (ESZ).

WHO declares eco-sensitive zone?

the MoEFCC
Eco-Sensitive Zones (ESZs) or Ecologically Fragile Areas (EFAs) are areas notified by the MoEFCC around Protected Areas, National Parks and Wildlife Sanctuaries. The purpose of declaring ESZs is to create some kind of “shock absorbers” to the protected areas by regulating and managing the activities around such areas.

What is the area extent of eco zone?

The extent of such eco-sensitive zones could range from 0-10 kilometres and in some exceptional cases it can even go beyond that and a zero extent zone is, in effect, non-existent. Over the years, the number of protected areas have also gone up in the country.

How many eco-sensitive zones are there in India?

In the previous year, around 40 sanctuaries and national parks were declared as ‘eco-sensitive zones’. At present there are over 600 sanctuaries and national parks in the country, the official added.

Which Tri State sanctuary has been declared as eco-sensitive zone recently?

Notes: As per the recent notification issued by the Ministry of Environment, the National Chambal Sanctuary was declared as eco-sensitive zone (ESZ).

Which national park is famous for gharials?

National Chambal Sanctuary, also called the National Chambal Gharial Wildlife Sanctuary, is a 5,400 sq. km tri-state protected area in northern India home to critically endangered gharial (small crocodiles), the red-crowned roof turtle and the endangered Ganges river dolphin.

Which state of India is declared as eco-sensitive zone?

“The central government hereby notifies an area to an extent of zero to two kilometres around the boundary of National Chambal Sanctuary in the state of Madhya Pradesh as the National Chambal Sanctuary Eco-sensitive Zone,” said a notification issued by the ministry of environment.

WHO declares eco-sensitive zones in India?