How many townships are in Mon State?

ten townships
There are ten townships in Mon State spread across two districts, Mawlamyine and Thaton.

What is the capital of Mon?

Bago is an ancient capital of the Mon Kingdom from the 13th Century. It is situated 80km (50miles) from Yangon and was reputedly founded by Two Mon princes in 573 CE. Begin the day with a visit to one of the largest monasteries in Myanmar – Kyakhatwaing Monastery.

Which State is Ye?

Mon State
It is the principal town of Ye Township of Mawlamyine District. The town is located by the Ye River as it drains into the Gulf of Martaban, and is surrounded by Tenasserim Hills in the east….Ye, Mon State.

Ye ရေး ရေဝ်
Country Myanmar
Division Mon State
District Ye
Population (2014) 34,430

Is MON A Burmese?

Nowadays, the Mon are a major ethnic group in Myanmar and a minor ethnic group in Thailand. The Mons from Myanmar are called Burmese Mon or Myanmar Mon. The Mons from Thailand are referred as Thai Raman or Thai Mon. The Mon dialects of Thailand and Myanmar are mutually intelligible.

How many states are there in Myanmar?

seven states
The Republic of the Union of Myanmar comprises seven states and seven regions named in the 2008 Constitution, six self-administered zones and divisions, and one Union territory containing the capital Nay Pyi Taw and surrounding townships.

How many townships are there in Myanmar 2020?

Townships (Burmese: မြို့နယ်; IPA: [mjo̰nɛ̀]) are the third-level administrative divisions of Myanmar. They are the sub-divisions of the Districts of Myanmar. According to the Myanmar Information Management Unit (MIMU), as of December 2015, there are 330 townships in Myanmar.

What is the old name of Yangon?

Yangon, also called Rangoon, city, capital of independent Myanmar (Burma) from 1948 to 2006, when the government officially proclaimed the new city of Nay Pyi Taw (Naypyidaw) the capital of the country.

What is the main religion in Myanmar?

There is significant demographic correlation between ethnicity and religion. Theravada Buddhism is the dominant religion among the majority Bamar ethnic group and among the Shan, Rakhine, Mon, and numerous other ethnic groups.

Where do they say Mon?

“Mon” is a Jamaican word that’s particularly important to the locals and is often used when talking to anyone, whether it’s a child or adult. The English translation for the Jamaican saying “ya mon” is “no problem” or “okay.” When someone offers you a rum runner, for example, it’s what you might want to say: “Ya mon!”

What are the 7 states in Myanmar?

Make your way to unearth 7 states, including Mon state, Kayin state, Rakhine state, Kayah state, Shan state, Chin sate and Kachin state, along with its 7 divisions, encompassing Thaninthayi division, Yangon division, Ayeyarwaddy division, Bago division, Magwe division, Mandalay division and Sagaing division and explore …

What are the names of the townships in Myanmar?

Name List Kyaukse District Kyaukse Township Myittha Township Sintga Mandalay District Amarapura Township Aungmyethazan Townshi Meiktila District Mahlaing Township Meiktila Township Thaz Myingyan District Myingyan Township Natogyi Township Nganz

Where can I find place names in Myanmar?

The methodology applied for place name standardization was as follows: Myanmar Information The names and p-codes of States/Divisions, Districts and Townships were provided by the Managment Unit Ministry of Agriculture and Irrigation, Settlement and Land Records Department (SLRD).

Which is the capital of Mon State of Myanmar?

Mon state has a capital of Mawlamyine, the fourth largest city in Myanmar. It was formerly known as Moulmein under the British colonial rule till the late 1980s. Administrative body is set under South Eastern Regional Command of Myanmar Army in Mawlamyine and Mawyawaddy Navy Command controls coastline security.

Which is the third level administrative division of Myanmar?

Townships (Burmese: မြို့နယ်; IPA: [mjo̰nɛ̀]) are the third-level administrative divisions of Myanmar. They are the sub-divisions of the Districts of Myanmar.