How many Conspicuous Gallantry Crosses have been awarded?

To date, there have been about 60 awards of the Conspicuous Gallantry Cross, including three posthumous and one unit award. No second award bars have been awarded. The following is a full list of recipients who have been Gazetted to date.

Who has won the most military crosses?

Military Cross
Total Including further awards: George V: c. 43,500 George VI: over 11,500 Elizabeth II: c. 750
Total recipients Over 52,000
Military Cross ribbon: without bar, and with one and two bars
Order of Wear

Can the George Cross be awarded to foreigners?

acts of the greatest heroism or of the most conspicuous courage in circumstances of extreme danger. The award is for civilians but also for military personnel whose actions would not normally be eligible to receive military awards, such as gallantry not in the face of the enemy.

What does CGC stand for military?

Conspicuous Gallantry Cross
Created in 1993 and first awarded in 1995 the Conspicuous Gallantry Cross (CGC) is a second level military decoration of the British Armed Forces which could be awarded posthumously for “recognition of an act or acts of conspicuous gallantry during active operations against the enemy”.

What is the highest honor in the military?

The Medal of Honor
The Medal of Honor is the highest military decoration that may be awarded by the United States government.

How prestigious is the Military Cross?

The George Cross is equal in stature in the UK honours system to the Victoria Cross, the highest military gallantry award. This has always been the case since the introduction of the award in 1940. It may be awarded to all ranks of the services and civilians and can be awarded posthumously.

What is higher than the George Cross?

The George Cross (GC) is the highest award bestowed by the British government for non-operational gallantry or gallantry not in the presence of an enemy….

George Cross
Order of Wear
Next (higher) Victoria Cross
Next (lower) Order of the Garter
Related George Medal and Queen’s Gallantry Medal

When was the Conspicuous Gallantry Cross first awarded?

The Conspicuous Gallantry Cross ( CGC) is a second level military decoration of the British Armed Forces. Created in 1993 and first awarded in 1995, it was instituted after a review of the British honours system to remove distinctions of rank in the awarding of gallantry decorations.

Is the Conspicuous Gallantry Cross the same as the DSO?

The Conspicuous Gallantry Cross (CGC) also replaced the Distinguished Service Order (DSO), in its role as an award to officers for gallantry. The DSO was retained as an award for outstanding leadership. The CGC now serves as the second level award for gallantry for all ranks across the whole armed forces.

How big is a ” Conspicuous Gallantry Cross ” Patee?

… an act or acts of conspicuous gallantry during active operations against the enemy. 36 mm max. width; silver cross patée imposed on a wreath of laurel, with the Royal Crown in a circular panel in the centre.

What do you wear with a Conspicuous Gallantry Cross?

When the ribbon bar alone is worn, a silver rosette on the ribbon indicates the award of a bar. Recipients are entitled to the postnominal letters CGC. The CGC (left) as worn on a dress uniform with campaign medals.