How do I become a massage therapist in Austin TX?

? What are the steps to apply for your LMT in Texas?

  1. Take and pass the Massage Board Licensing Exam (MBLEX).
  2. Take and pass TDLR’s Jurisprudence Exam.
  3. Apply to TDLR to become a Licensed Massage Therapist.
  4. Get fingerprinted, TDLR will advise applicants on how to complete this task, once they have applied.

How long does it take to become a massage therapist in Texas?

Massage therapy licenses in Texas require a minimum of 500 hours education in the practice of massage therapy. The Texas Department of State Health Services requires at least 125 hours of this to be in the Swedish massage therapy theory and technique.

Can I give massages in Texas without a license?

No. You need a Texas license to advertise or practice massage therapy. 6. In Texas, a state license is required to advertise or practice massage therapy.

How much do massage therapists make?

The national average annual wage of an massage therapist is $47,180, according to the latest data from the BLS. This is around $6,000 less than current average annual salary for all occupations, $53,490.

How much does it cost to become a massage therapist?

While there are no super-reliable statistics on massage therapy school tuition, one popular, but unofficial source states that tuition can range “between $6,000 and $10,000,” while Massage Magazine notes that some programs can “cost upward of $15,000.”

How much money does a massage therapist make in Texas?

Texas average massage therapist salary: $51,790.

Is massage legal in Texas?

The term “body rub” refers to massage therapy under Texas law. To give body rubs in Texas professionally, you must be licensed. This means completing at least 500 hours of coursework and passing a background check.

How do I start a massage business from home?

Start a massage therapy business by following these 10 steps:

  1. STEP 1: Plan your business.
  2. STEP 2: Form a legal entity.
  3. STEP 3: Register for taxes.
  4. STEP 4: Open a business bank account & credit card.
  5. STEP 5: Set up business accounting.
  6. STEP 6: Obtain necessary permits and licenses.
  7. STEP 7: Get business insurance.

Is massage therapy a good career?

Some of the top reasons why massage therapy is a good career include: high demand for massage therapists, great income potential, flexible hours, a variety of potential work settings, opportunities for growth, rewarding work, training is fast and affordable, and it can be a fun and low-stress career.

Which is the best massage school in Texas?

Massage Therapy School The Austin Massage Academy is the best path towards becoming a licensed massage therapist in the state of Texas. Our massage therapy program is unique because it is designed to give you all the tools you need to be successful in both massage and in business. Call now for a FREE consultation

Where can I go to school to become a massage therapist?

The easiest way to be a massage therapist is to enroll in a licensed massage school today. Whether you live in Austin TX or not, choosing a massage school in Austin is a great choice. The city has much to offer for your massage therapy educational experience.

Can a massage therapist wear a mask in Texas?

Clients are asked to wear masks until their massage begins and therapists wear masks at all times. The Austin Massage Academy is the best path towards becoming a licensed massage therapist in the state of Texas.

What does accreditation mean for massage therapy school?

Accreditation is a voluntary process that recognizes educational programs for having achieved a measurable level of quality, performance, and integrity. Accreditation also means that a school maintains important minimum student outcomes, including completion, licensure, and employment of graduates.